You Know It Don’t Come Easy

Alan J. Schwarz
4 min readJan 8, 2021

Joanne Vachon knew how to hit a note. I was mesmerized by her incredible singing talent, and I became a huge fan when I was a young seventeen years old.

Joanne and I attended the same High School and when she signed up with the group ‘’The Touring Scream’’, she was envied. She left school for weeks at a time and asked me to keep a second set of notes for her. Since I was a fan and she was a friend I had no trouble complying with this request. She was always around for mid-terms and final exams and we talked on the phone at least once a week about things going on at the school.

The amazing thing about Joanne was that the teachers seemed to hold her in the same high esteem as her fellow students, she was admired. When we had our commencement exercises at the end of the year, Joanne performed and the response to her singing was a five-minute standing ovation. When she was presented with her diploma she received another rousing standing ovation.

I went to Carleton University and during my first year, I received a flyer stating that ‘’The Touring Scream’’ would be playing at a local club, Barrymore’s. None of the guys on my floor believed that I knew Joanne Vachon. She was their favourite singer. On the night of the concert, seven of us headed for downtown Ottawa.

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.