When you lose a friend it’s forever

Alan J. Schwarz
3 min readNov 29, 2023

Sometimes in life you meet genuine real people, that was the story of Robbie

Image by Pexels from Pixabay

I consider Fiction my genre, but not today. I feel obligated and compelled to write about my friend Robbie, and I bet she would’ve loved it. Robbie was a very basic lady who was always seemingly interested in what you were doing.

I would see her and she’d tell me about her writing classes and I encouraged her with everything I had. Robbie was in her seventies and had some health challenges, but her writing was her equalizer.

As soon as she’d finish a story, she’d send it to me and I was always astonished. There was very little I could find to critique. She wrote from heart (which the Best writers do) and her stories were always sweet. They didn’t require a thesaurus to understand and she had a humanity in the stories that was refreshing and real.

Robbie had always been heavily involved in the Girl Guides and she was extremely proud of being able to help young women make a difference in the world. There wasn’t a year that went by when I didn’t have way to many Girl Guide cookies, but who could resist Robbie.

When I would see her at a community event, she always had a big smile and gave me a nice kiss. Her whole being was real and she never ever put on any airs. She didn’t dress in labels and she always…

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.