The Racist At The Golf Course

Alan J. Schwarz
4 min readMay 18, 2021

The Diplomat Golf Course in Hallandale Beach Florida was always beautiful. It was very well looked after and there was always a fight to reserve a tee time.

My family owned a condo across the street from the Diplomat Country Club for the past forty years. I will never forget the experience I had at the golf course before the Diplomat was sold to a major union.

Since I was a regular I worked out a deal with the club that could I play golf every day for two hundred dollars a week. I loved it, the weather was gorgeous and I didn’t have to worry if I didn’t have a tee time and had to miss a day or two, I had a great rate so it all balanced out.

My friend Eddie Sokoll came for a visit from Toronto, so I booked a tee time for three thirty on Tuesday afternoon. The course was pretty busy, so we took our time playing eighteen and when we finished, the pro shop was getting ready to close.

There was a short dumpy guy who managed the carts and over saw the bookings. He was the one you received a cart from and who signed you out. My friend and I were returning our cart when we heard him and three other guys laughing. The moron was telling a joke about Black people using the despised and unacceptable ‘’N’’ word. Next he said very disparaging things about Jews and he ended up his racist fun fest with negative comments about…

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.