The Private School and the Normal Car…

Alan J. Schwarz
4 min readMar 1, 2021

Upper Canada College is a very highly regarded institution of higher learning. UCC is located in a very nice area in Toronto. When Shaun Michael Schwarz was accepted as a student, there was tremendous enthusiasm in the Schwarz family, Shaun would be going to a very prestigious school.

As an Uncle, I couldn’t have been prouder of my Nephew’s accomplishments. From a young age, Shaun was always very smart, determined, and decent.

The students at Upper Canada College for the most part came from well-established families and many had affluent backgrounds.

One day I received a call from my Nephew inviting me to attend a special event that he was participating in. I arrived early and found a parking spot. I was sitting in the auditorium waiting for him to perform in a school play when I realized I had not locked my car doors. I had my briefcase in the back, and I started to worry that someone might see it and steal it.

The problem I had was Shaun was in every act and I couldn’t get to the car and back into my seat. I thought about it at intermission, but I didn’t want to be late and miss the second half of the play.

I waited patiently and kept thinking about what was in my briefcase that I would need to replace. I had a couple of digital tape recorders but that was about it. I had…

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.