The Hockey Match….OBSO ON T.O.

Alan J. Schwarz
3 min readNov 21, 2020

I have a seven year old Nephew, Jonathan Phillip Matthew Schwarz, who plays hockey, or at least he gives his heart and soul to hockey.

Jonathan is on a team called ‘’The Souvenirs’’, an original name for a hockey club if there ever was one. I guess it could have been worse his team could have been ‘’Jimmy’s Heavy Hot Dogs’’ or ‘’Milo’s Tool and Dye.’’

One morning Jonathan called and asked if I could take him to a game as the Souvenirs were playing the Markham Warriors and his Daddy had to go away on a business trip.

I thought to myself the route would be on, how can Souvenirs beat Warriors. I told Jonathan it would be my pleasure and honour to take him to the game. My Brother called a few minutes later and said I would need to help Jonathan put on his equipment and I knew this was going to be a problem. I was lousy when it came to helping him put on his hockey gear.

Even though I played hockey for years, I was never very good with equipment. I remember one memorable occasion when I had to leave a game in the middle of the first period because I had somehow forgotten to put on my jock. As it happened (Murphy’s Law) someone took a shot which deflected up and hit my knee. In the ensuing pile up I kept my gloves strategically placed and prayed that no skates would get near my groin area. I was relieved when I could get…

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.