Surviving My First Job….

Alan J. Schwarz
9 min readOct 2, 2021

You should never trust a guy named ‘’Pimp.’ I was in my last year of High School and I had known Pimp Thompson for the five years I attended Oshawa Secondary.

My family had their own thriving business and I loved working closely with my Dad during the summer months. We were in the cattle biz and we exported dairy cattle to the United States. We also milked over one hundred and twenty head, so it was a big operation.

On the last week in High School, Pimp came over to my locker, and he gave me a whack in the shoulder to get my attention. ‘’Eisen, I got us the sweetest gig you could ever imagine. You know my Dad works for the City and he’s in charge of upgrade projects. So that means things like sidewalks. Anyways, he talked to Tony Marcoe who owns ‘’Marcoe Construction and Paving.’’ My Dad was one of the decision-makers who awards contracts for construction. When he got the contract Marcoe told my old man he’d hire me for the summer to work on sidewalks. I just have to stand around and watch cement dry. I’m getting fourteen bucks an hour, not a bad gig.’’ I told him that was great and I hoped he’d enjoy himself, even though it sounded very boring.

‘’Eisen man, that’s why I got my Dad to get you a job also. We’ll work together man. We will crack jokes all summer, make big bucks, and have a good time. We’ll be setting ourselves up to have a lot of cash…

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.