Passover , My Great Aunt, and Death With Dignity

Alan J. Schwarz
6 min readApr 5, 2021

I would get very excited every Sunday. I knew my Aunt Jeannette was coming out to my Grandparents for a visit, and she was bringing some kind of special treat with her. One week there were donuts, one-week chocolate cupcakes, and always kosher liverwurst.

Aunty Jeannette could only be described in one word ‘’Lady’’. She was the epitome of a class act. She was kind and caring and loving and smart. She was generous and interesting and she loved her Brother (my Grandfather Philip and my Grandma Jenny) with her heart and soul.

My family came from Germany to Canada to escape the Nazis. They left on a chilly cold day. All their major possessions were in crates. As they got on the ship to leave they saw their boxes being carted away in a direction far from the ship, they had all been stolen including beautiful art work. On the Whitestar Cunard line crossing the Atlantic from Rotterdam to Halifax were my Grandmother and Grandfather, My Uncle Otto, my Aunt Claire, my Dad Joe, and his brother Carl.

My family knew the Nazis were a real threat. They knew they had to get out of Germany. My Dad was sent to school in England (Buxton College) and often went to London and Canada House to make our case. He provided all the documentation that was needed and Canada issued the papers allowing us to migrate.

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.