My Uncle Joe...A Real Life Super Hero…

Alan J. Schwarz
4 min readJul 17, 2021

One of the first stories my Mom told me was about her brother Joe and how much he loved his Mother and Father and his sisters. He would do anything for them. They all grew up on Ulster Street in Toronto.

My Mom said growing up my Uncle Joe was very close with his first cousin Sammy Luftspring, a tremendous professional boxer. Uncle Joe went with Sammy to the majority of his fights and they were buddies. Uncle Joe was devastated when Sammy’s autobiography came out ‘’Call Me Sammy’’ and he wasn’t mentioned anywhere. He would express his hurt everytime the subject came up. Sammy blamed the Editors of the book, but Uncle Joe didn’t buy it.

Uncle Joe called me on a weekly basis when I was in University just to see how I was doing. I was usually busy but I appreciated the calls. It meant he was out there and caring about how life was treating me.

The only issue I ever had with Uncle Joe was when he’d call before an exam. He would wish me tremendous luck and then I’d do lousy. When he didn’t call I’d do great. Who could figure out the reasons, but I knew his intentions were honourable.

Uncle Joe was married to Aunty Bertha and they had three children Solly, Penny, and Risa. I really liked my cousins even though I didn’t see them very often. Aunty Bertha had a strong personality and a great heart.

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.