My Niece and a moment to remember…

Alan J. Schwarz
3 min readFeb 24, 2021

Some of the happiest moments of my life were spent with my niece Alex. I was fortunate to be a part of Alex’s life as she was growing up. I was able to enjoy some memorable moments with her. One of the unforgettable situations happened at the prestigious private school that she attended Havergal College.

Alex was in the middle school (10 years old) and was extremely excited that her class was creating a ‘’French Cafe.’’ When she found out her parents had a scheduling conflict and couldn’t attend she invited me. I was beyond flattered.

I arrived five minutes before the Cafe was to begin and headed to the classroom. I knocked on the door and a smiling woman answered. She looked to be about twenty-seven and was extremely friendly. ‘’Thank You for coming to our cafe, I hope you enjoy yourself, the girls have worked hard. Can you tell me who invited you? I smiled proudly, ‘’Alex Schwarz. she’s my niece.’’ She returned the smile ‘’Alex is an exceptional girl, please take a seat at table five over by the window.’’

I walked over to a small table that was full of parents and took my seat. Alex came over wearing a Chef’s hat and an apron.‘’Bonjour, you may have a croissant or a chocolate eclair. I think Uncle, you will choose the chocolate eclair, am I right?’’ She came back a couple of minutes later a glass of chocolate milk and a chocolate…

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.