My first encounter with Anti-Semitism in 2024

Alan J. Schwarz
6 min readMar 12, 2024

Unbelievable and Upsetting

Image by ashish choudhary from Pixabay

You never expect to encounter Anti-Semitism. When you wake up in the morning you look forward to the day, not dealing with someone who has a hateful agenda.

I was thrilled to invite my wife and daughter to an upscale restaurant for brunch on Sunday morning. Since it was South Florida it was a chance to watch a sporting event and make a few bets while enjoying a very nice buffet.

In order to make sure we got the full ‘’experience’’ I called weeks before to make a reservation. We wanted to be at the windows. We arrived on time and the host, a blonde haired man in his forties who handled the reservations asked our name. ‘’Cohen for three’’ he nodded. ‘’Okay, you’ll be at a table at the finish line.’’ I had been with my wife to the restaurant numerous times. ‘’That’s at the window?’’ He shook his head ‘’Nope, it’s across from the window.’’ I looked at him ‘’We made our reservations weeks ago, why aren’t we at the window?’’ He glared at me. ‘’Because I have one hundred and fifty reservations to look after’’’ I once again answered ‘’But, we made our reservations weeks ago and I specifically asked for the window.’’ He didn’t answer, and a hostess took us to the table, which was in the middle of nowhere. I wondered what the point was of making a reservation.

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.