My Fight with the Anti-Vaxer at the Supermarket…Not a Pretty story

Alan J. Schwarz
8 min readMay 9, 2021

I wanted to run into the Supermarket, grab some fresh fruit and get out as quickly as possible. I was concerned about the virulent variants of Covid. There was the Brazilian strain, the British Strain, the South African Strain and the latest reports said there was a deadly Indian Strain. I had decided to only go out when necessary and to always wear a mask and gloves.

I could have ordered my grocery order online and had it delivered, but I thought if I went early enough I would avoid big crowds and could move unimpeded. I figured from my house to the Supermarket and home again would only take a half-hour.

My plan was off to a stellar start. I arrived, got into the store, grabbed some bananas, strawberries, blueberries, red grapes, and a Watermelon. As anticipated there weren’t a lot of people around. I moved over to an aisle with spreads and bought a couple of bottles of Pear and Peach jam. Next was a flat of eggs, a litre of two-percent milk, some yogurt, and finally five cans of dog food. Last but not least I threw a carton of freshly squeezed orange juice and a bottle of apple juice not from concentrate into the cart.

I was very pleased with how I could have qualified to go on an episode of Beat The Clock, I was on schedule. There was an area to line up to cash out. There were…

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.