I Miss My Mom…Two Years gone and it feels like yesterday..

Alan J. Schwarz
4 min readJan 11, 2021

I was the luckiest person in the Universe to be born into the Schwarz family. I had the most idyllic childhood ever. My Mom was an early adapter and any new toys ended up at our house as soon as they hit the market, we lacked for nothing.

Every day when I came home from school my Mom wanted to know about everything that had transpired in and out of the classroom. There were a lot of kids who ate lunch at school, but my Mom wouldn’t have it. She wanted to make sure we had a hot lunch,

For the majority of my Public School life my Mom would come to pick my sister and me up (my Brother was older and was in High School) from school. There would be the familiar bump didi bump bump blasting from her car horn when she saw us. She was so amazing that if the Popcorn guy was there (some guy who had a light blue station wagon that played tunes and sold popcorn and candy apples out of the back ) she would give us money, so we could go and grab popcorn.

In Public School I remember a tough kid named David Patterson wanting to have a fight at recess. I was nervous and insisted that we fight after school. The reason I wanted to fight after school was I knew my Mom would be in the parking lot and no matter what happened I’d be okay. I was so confident in my Mom being around that David called the fight off. It…

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.