Getting past the past…

Alan J. Schwarz
12 min readApr 26, 2021

Jeffrey Wold was shocked when he walked into a McDonald’s and a woman he didn’t recognize came running across the restaurant, yelling his name. ‘’Jeff, Jeff, I can’t believe it’s you, Jeff, Jeff.’’ He was trying to figure out who she was when she was finally standing in front of him. ‘’It has been years, I think about you all the time. How are you? What are you doing here? Are you married?’’

Jeff tried for facial recognition and then it hit him, it was his old High School girlfriend, Janice. Janice Keogh had been a very energetic and fun girl. He had asked him out in their last year of High School and they had dated for about four months. Things ended after Prom when Jeff went off to University in Southern California and she stayed home and went to a local College. She had always wanted to be a nurse and that’s where her career path took her.

‘’Janice Keogh, I didn’t recognize you at first. How is it that you look younger than when we went to school together? Can I buy you a bite?’’ Janice thanked him for the offer but declined. ‘’I’ve already had breakfast and I’m on the way to the hospital. Are you back here to stay?’’

‘’My parents are selling their place after almost fifty years and moving to Santa Barbara to join me there. That’s where I live. I’m here to give them a hand, I’m staying with them for the next two weeks. I’d love to get together with…

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.