Covid-19 and the Hanukkah Miracle

Alan J. Schwarz
10 min readDec 11, 2020

The call came in at exactly ten thirty in the morning and it caused Jack Morganthau tremendous anxiety. He was in the middle of a presentation about taking a company public and if the financial people liked what he was saying it would change his life. He had been preparing for the meeting for months and it had taken him weeks to assemble the group in front of him.

Due to the pandemic the meeting was on Zoom but Jack was now distracted. He didn’t know how he was going to tell the money people he had to take a break to talk to his Mom, but he did. ‘’I’m going to put up some documents on the screen for you all to look at. I’m sorry but my Mother is elderly and she just called, She lives at home alone, so when she calls I have to take it. I am sorry. I shouldn’t be long.’’

Before he could say another word Wyatt Eastland spoke up. ‘’I’ve heard enough, I don’t need to see any documents. I will let you know if my company wants to participate in the listing.’’ He then pushed leave the meeting and he was gone. Other people on the call mimicked his comments and they were gone. The last person, Edith Gordon looked very serious. ‘’I find it admirable your taking your Mom’s call. I know how important this meeting was to you. I will get back in touch, wish your Mother well.’’ She hung up and Jack was left staring at an empty screen.

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.