Caught in a Flip…

Alan J. Schwarz
15 min readMay 8, 2021

The deal seemed sweet and Murry Litwack loved a good deal. His best friend, Lawrence Silverstein had pitched him the opportunity during their weekly poker game. ‘’Murry, Real Estate is hot, hot, hot. It is a sucker's game and I have a chance to make some serious bread, but I want you in. There’s a house in South Lakewell, Georgia that I can buy for six hundred dollars. I have to admit that the house is in a crusty area but can you say gentrification? Dude, I estimate that if we fix the house up, we can make approximately fifty thousand each? It will take six weeks, we’ll walk away and never look back. I haven’t talked to anybody else. What do you think? Are you ready to make some easy money?’’

Murry showed his cards and raked in the pot. All the other guys at the table were talking about the Maple Leafs and their playoff chances. ‘’Look Larry, it sounds good but you know what the Better Business Bureau says, if it sounds too good to be true, it usually is. I mean, what do we know about flipping houses. I couldn’t connect a new fridge when I bought it, my wife finally had to say, put in the plug. I am not Mr. Fix It.’’

Larry had a huge smile on his face. ‘’I got us covered. You know George, the guy we use to fix our cottage? He and his brother Milton, have agreed to do the work. We’ll send them from their place in Minden to Georgia. They’ll rebuild the house, get a local electrician and…

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.