Bye Benji…

Alan J. Schwarz
3 min readJan 24, 2021

My Father was the warmest, most decent male human being ever created on this or any other planet. My Mother was the most sensitive, warm, caring woman that I have ever had the good fortune to know. Together they had a love for each other, their family, and life that was unparalleled.

Benji was our Cocker Spaniel, he was always a very close friend. When my Father had a very serious operation, Benji kissed my Mother over and over and was her constant companion until he came home from the hospital safe and sound.

When my Mother slipped on onion pieces that had been flipped off a pizza at the Oshawa Shopping Centre and broke her hip, Benji went through a depression. No matter how upset he was Benji still acted as a faithful companion to my Father and accompanied him on walks every day. Benji was delirious with joy when my parents were reunited in good health.

Benji had a tendency to jump up on beds, he seemed to like my bed the best. My Mom would constantly yell for him to get down and with a shrug of his head, he would leave the comfort of the bed and lie on the floor. As soon as my Mother exited the room, he would get back on the bed. He would manoeuver himself into a position where his head was resting on the pillow. Benji was a very smart dog.

The love my family had for Benji was borderline abnormal. We treated the dog as a member of our immediate…

--

--

Alan J. Schwarz

Alan Schwarz loves life. He is the founder of JAMS Productions, a television production company based in Toronto . His passion is writing.